3.9

73 reviews

5
29
4 24
3 9
2 3
1 3
8470 Slack Slack is a team communication tool founded by Stewart Butterfield. Slack began as an internal tool used by his company Tiny Speck in the development of Glitch, the defunct online game. Slack allows communities, groups, or teams to join through a specific URL or invite sent by a team admin or owner. ["Organization","SoftwareApplication"] {"components":{"STATE":"CA","CITY":"San Francisco","COUNTY":"United States"},"line1":null,"line2":null,"city":"San Francisco","state":"CA","country":"United States","postalCode":null,"humanizedValue":"San Francisco, CA United States","location":null} https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/dotfeedback-images/e54a675a-c6cf-40f6-b619-9a6806d49937 https://slack.com/ https://wikipedia.org/wiki/Slack_(software) https://facebook.com/slackhq https://www.freebase.com/m/0zdp3l0 ["#slackteammessaging","#slack"] https://www.twitter.com/SlackHQ https://www.instagram.com/slackhq >

Slack

Organization Software Application

Slack is a team communication tool founded by Stewart Butterfield. Slack began as an internal tool used by his company Tiny Speck in the development of Glitch, the defunct online game. Slack allows communities, groups, or teams to join through a specific URL or invite sent by a team admin or owner.

Contact Information


San Francisco, CA United States
Edit
Disclaimer: This site is provided to facilitate free speech regarding Slack. No direct endorsement or association should be conferred.

Slack review :

143042 review-like-mention-things-1-screen like-mention-things-1-screen http://www.slack.feedback/review-like-mention-things-1-screen 23479 7 7 7 0 0 0 I'd like to mention two things. 1) When someone on a call is screen sharing, the floating info bar is always in the way. A small icon somewhere like a corner that shows the info bar when clicked would be better. 2) We need to the means to discuss mathematics and chemistry. At least add superscripts and subscripts. I don't see any reason you should not allow HTML <sub>subscript</sub> and <sup>superscript</sup> markup. <p>I&#39;d like to mention two things.</p> <p>1) When someone on a call is screen sharing, the floating info bar is always in the way. A small icon somewhere like a corner that shows the info bar when clicked would be better.</p> <p>2) We need to the means to discuss mathematics and chemistry. At least add superscripts and subscripts. I don&#39;t see any reason you should not allow HTML subscript and superscript markup. </p> 2021-04-06T17:22+0000
Apr 06, 2021

I'd like to mention two things.

1) When someone on a call is screen sharing, the floating info bar is always in the way. A small icon somewhere like a corner that shows the info bar when clicked would be better.

2) We need to the means to discuss mathematics and chemistry. At least add superscripts and subscripts. I don't see any reason you should not allow HTML subscript and superscript markup.


142955 review-heyo-really-love-product-general heyo-really-love-product-general http://www.slack.feedback/review-heyo-really-love-product-general 23415 0 0 0 Heyo! Really love the product in general but I feel there are couple things that I just don't understand. I administer the slack for our organization. I don't understand why I can't implement a theme for all users or even organize the side bar for all users. We often have channels for specific teams and said teams are organised into areas of work focus. Currently on my screen everything is branded and cleanly organized... but the rest of our company has a mess of channels. It's a challenge to fully integrate a system like this when a novice users just sees a messy system. So 1 Branding for all users in a group managed by admin if wanted and 2. let us organize the channels for everyone. <p>Heyo! Really love the product in general but I feel there are couple things that I just don&#39;t understand. I administer the slack for our organization. I don&#39;t understand why I can&#39;t implement a theme for all users or even organize the side bar for all users. We often have channels for specific teams and said teams are organised into areas of work focus. Currently on my screen everything is branded and cleanly organized&hellip; but the rest of our company has a mess of channels. It&#39;s a challenge to fully integrate a system like this when a novice users just sees a messy system. So 1 Branding for all users in a group managed by admin if wanted and 2. let us organize the channels for everyone. </p> 2021-03-28T19:15+0000
Mar 28, 2021

Heyo! Really love the product in general but I feel there are couple things that I just don't understand. I administer the slack for our organization. I don't understand why I can't implement a theme for all users or even organize the side bar for all users. We often have channels for specific teams and said teams are organised into areas of work focus. Currently on my screen everything is branded and cleanly organized… but the rest of our company has a mess of channels. It's a challenge to fully integrate a system like this when a novice users just sees a messy system. So 1 Branding for all users in a group managed by admin if wanted and 2. let us organize the channels for everyone.


142620 review-hey-developers-firstly-want-thank hey-developers-firstly-want-thank http://www.slack.feedback/review-hey-developers-firstly-want-thank 23250 10 9 9 0 0 0 Hey developers, firstly, I want to thank you for developing this great communication platform which was essential for my work during the pandemic. Secondly, I have an idea to improve the user experience. My initiative is using an external cloud for sharing and storing documents. It would be amazing, if there was a cloud in slack, too, so there is no need to open links to the browser every time we share documents. Cheers, Lino <p>Hey developers,<br/>firstly, I want to thank you for developing this great communication platform which was essential for my work during the pandemic.<br/>Secondly, I have an idea to improve the user experience. My initiative is using an external cloud for sharing and storing documents. It would be amazing, if there was a cloud in slack, too, so there is no need to open links to the browser every time we share documents.</p> <p>Cheers,<br/>Lino</p> 2021-03-10T03:11+0000

Hey developers,
firstly, I want to thank you for developing this great communication platform which was essential for my work during the pandemic.
Secondly, I have an idea to improve the user experience. My initiative is using an external cloud for sharing and storing documents. It would be amazing, if there was a cloud in slack, too, so there is no need to open links to the browser every time we share documents.

Cheers,
Lino


141897 review-mov-mkv-webm-video-files mov-mkv-webm-video-files http://www.slack.feedback/review-mov-mkv-webm-video-files 22654 8 8 8 0 0 0 MOV, MKV and WEBM video files won't be rendered when uploaded and played on Slack. MP4 files seems to be working fine, however, having to convert files to MP4 is a redundant step when sharing video files on Slack. <p>MOV, MKV and WEBM video files won&#39;t be rendered when uploaded and played on Slack. MP4 files seems to be working fine, however, having to convert files to MP4 is a redundant step when sharing video files on Slack. </p> 2021-02-04T10:57+0000
Feb 04, 2021

MOV, MKV and WEBM video files won't be rendered when uploaded and played on Slack. MP4 files seems to be working fine, however, having to convert files to MP4 is a redundant step when sharing video files on Slack.


141736 review-slackbot-actually-quite-useful-setting slackbot-actually-quite-useful-setting http://www.slack.feedback/review-slackbot-actually-quite-useful-setting 22463 7 7 7 0 0 0 The Slackbot is actually quite useful for setting reminders and other things. I recently came across a functionality that I think should be incorporated. I tried to set a remind by saying "remind me tomorrow at 830 to do [blank]". It did not fully comprehend that time request but when I retried with "remind me tomorrow at 8:30 ..." it figured out what I wanted. Would that be something easily fixable so that the first request is processed correctly? <p>The Slackbot is actually quite useful for setting reminders and other things. I recently came across a functionality that I think should be incorporated.</p> <p>I tried to set a remind by saying &#34;remind me tomorrow at 830 to do [blank]&#34;. It did not fully comprehend that time request but when I retried with &#34;remind me tomorrow at 8:30 &hellip;&#34; it figured out what I wanted. Would that be something easily fixable so that the first request is processed correctly?</p> 2021-01-26T21:36+0000

The Slackbot is actually quite useful for setting reminders and other things. I recently came across a functionality that I think should be incorporated.

I tried to set a remind by saying "remind me tomorrow at 830 to do [blank]". It did not fully comprehend that time request but when I retried with "remind me tomorrow at 8:30 …" it figured out what I wanted. Would that be something easily fixable so that the first request is processed correctly?


141179 review-does-slack-continue-ding-turned does-slack-continue-ding-turned http://www.slack.feedback/review-does-slack-continue-ding-turned 21865 6 6 6 0 0 0 Why does Slack continue to ding when I've turned on Do Not Disturb on my Mac (Big Sur)? The entire point of the Do Not Disturb feature is... and I shouldn't have to say this... DON'T DISTURB ME. Slack, please make your product respect the Do Not Disturb feature for Macs! <p>Why does Slack continue to ding when I&#39;ve turned on Do Not Disturb on my Mac (Big Sur)?</p> <p>The entire point of the Do Not Disturb feature is&hellip; and I shouldn&#39;t have to say this&hellip; DON&#39;T DISTURB ME. Slack, please make your product respect the Do Not Disturb feature for Macs!</p> 2020-12-10T18:46+0000
Dec 10, 2020

Why does Slack continue to ding when I've turned on Do Not Disturb on my Mac (Big Sur)?

The entire point of the Do Not Disturb feature is… and I shouldn't have to say this… DON'T DISTURB ME. Slack, please make your product respect the Do Not Disturb feature for Macs!


140773 review-like-request-feature-allows-channels like-request-feature-allows-channels http://www.slack.feedback/review-like-request-feature-allows-channels 21313 8 8 8 1 0 1 Hi... I would like to request a feature that allows me to move some channels to a different folder. Right now all my company channels are in the drop down of one but I really don't care about most of them. Will you please implement a way to move channels to different collapsible folders to minimize my scrolling and simplify my visibility with what matters most? Thanks! <p>Hi&hellip; I would like to request a feature that allows me to move some channels to a different folder. Right now all my company channels are in the drop down of one but I really don&#39;t care about most of them. Will you please implement a way to move channels to different collapsible folders to minimize my scrolling and simplify my visibility with what matters most? Thanks!</p> 2020-11-16T16:50+0000
Nov 16, 2020

Hi… I would like to request a feature that allows me to move some channels to a different folder. Right now all my company channels are in the drop down of one but I really don't care about most of them. Will you please implement a way to move channels to different collapsible folders to minimize my scrolling and simplify my visibility with what matters most? Thanks!


140654 review-change-showed-today-adding-tiny change-showed-today-adding-tiny http://www.slack.feedback/review-change-showed-today-adding-tiny 21248 5 6 5 2 0 2 A change showed up today, adding tiny pictures/icons next to individuals under "Direct messages" in the sidebar. This is very distracting and makes it very difficult to tell who is online and who is not, depending on the background of their tiny image. Very much dislike this change. It would be nice to be able to turn this off. <p>A change showed up today, adding tiny pictures/icons next to individuals under &#34;Direct messages&#34; in the sidebar. This is very distracting and makes it very difficult to tell who is online and who is not, depending on the background of their tiny image. Very much dislike this change. It would be nice to be able to turn this off.</p> 2020-11-11T16:00+0000
Nov 11, 2020

A change showed up today, adding tiny pictures/icons next to individuals under "Direct messages" in the sidebar. This is very distracting and makes it very difficult to tell who is online and who is not, depending on the background of their tiny image. Very much dislike this change. It would be nice to be able to turn this off.

Guest Nov 11, 2020

I too find it much harder to figure out who is on line / off line as well it uses more of my sidebar space. I understand some people might like it, so it would be good to be able to turn this off / on as a preference


140345 review-hello-better-control-slackbot-don hello-better-control-slackbot-don http://www.slack.feedback/review-hello-better-control-slackbot-don 21314 7 7 7 0 0 0 Hello, It would be better if we had some control over Slackbot. As it is, I don't want constant reminders to delete rarely-used channels: those channels are kept as records even if rarely-used. Furthermore, the constant injection into a conversation every time the phrase "I can't" is typed is jarring and unprofessional. It's a common phrase, if you want to be cute with your bot then give those of us who don't want it the option to turn it off. Thank you. <p>Hello,</p> <p>It would be better if we had some control over Slackbot. As it is, I don&#39;t want constant reminders to delete rarely-used channels: those channels are kept as records even if rarely-used. Furthermore, the constant injection into a conversation every time the phrase &#34;I can&#39;t&#34; is typed is jarring and unprofessional. It&#39;s a common phrase, if you want to be cute with your bot then give those of us who don&#39;t want it the option to turn it off.</p> <p>Thank you.</p> 2020-11-03T20:33+0000

Hello,

It would be better if we had some control over Slackbot. As it is, I don't want constant reminders to delete rarely-used channels: those channels are kept as records even if rarely-used. Furthermore, the constant injection into a conversation every time the phrase "I can't" is typed is jarring and unprofessional. It's a common phrase, if you want to be cute with your bot then give those of us who don't want it the option to turn it off.

Thank you.


140223 review-cool-app-info-wrote-instead cool-app-info-wrote-instead http://www.slack.feedback/review-cool-app-info-wrote-instead 21315 0 0 0 Would be cool if on top of the app I could see some info about who wrote me instead of just having the "more unread" tag at the bottom. With the current implementation i need to scroll (and I have many teams and channels to scroll) before I see who write me, and then I realise it's not important/urgent to read that. <p>Would be cool if on top of the app I could see some info about who wrote me instead of just having the &#34;more unread&#34; tag at the bottom.<br/>With the current implementation i need to scroll (and I have many teams and channels to scroll) before I see who write me, and then I realise it&#39;s not important/urgent to read that.</p> 2020-10-29T14:23+0000

Would be cool if on top of the app I could see some info about who wrote me instead of just having the "more unread" tag at the bottom.
With the current implementation i need to scroll (and I have many teams and channels to scroll) before I see who write me, and then I realise it's not important/urgent to read that.


139821 review-trying-download-slack-volunteer-biden trying-download-slack-volunteer-biden http://www.slack.feedback/review-trying-download-slack-volunteer-biden 20877 0 0 0 Hi, I'm trying to download Slack because I am a volunteer for the Biden/Harris campaign. I cannot send texts for them if I am unable to download Slack. Please help!!! Thank you, Ellen <p>Hi, I&#39;m trying to download Slack because I am a volunteer for the Biden/Harris campaign. I cannot send texts for them if I am unable to download Slack.<br/>Please help!!!<br/>Thank you,<br/>Ellen</p> 2020-10-10T19:56+0000

Hi, I'm trying to download Slack because I am a volunteer for the Biden/Harris campaign. I cannot send texts for them if I am unable to download Slack.
Please help!!!
Thank you,
Ellen


139470 review-hey-slack-team-thanks-amazing hey-slack-team-thanks-amazing http://www.slack.feedback/review-hey-slack-team-thanks-amazing 20863 10 8 9 0 0 0 Hey Slack Team! Thanks for the amazing app, it truly makes life more convenient. I've recently started switching between light/dark themes of Windows 10, because of a lighter environment. Slack is set to sync with OS theme, but it only does so on startup. Could you make it update when Windows theme updates please? Thanks. <p>Hey Slack Team!</p> <p>Thanks for the amazing app, it truly makes life more convenient.<br/>I&#39;ve recently started switching between light/dark themes of Windows 10, because of a lighter environment. Slack is set to sync with OS theme, but it only does so on startup. Could you make it update when Windows theme updates please?</p> <p>Thanks.</p> 2020-09-24T10:07+0000

Hey Slack Team!

Thanks for the amazing app, it truly makes life more convenient.
I've recently started switching between light/dark themes of Windows 10, because of a lighter environment. Slack is set to sync with OS theme, but it only does so on startup. Could you make it update when Windows theme updates please?

Thanks.


138465 review-does-job-instant-messaging-app does-job-instant-messaging-app http://www.slack.feedback/review-does-job-instant-messaging-app 20424 3 6 4 1 0 1 does the job of an instant messaging app for an organization well, but not good enough as a complete communications app, which it aims to be. calling features are lacking and completely absent on firefox. <p>does the job of an instant messaging app for an organization well, but not good enough as a complete communications app, which it aims to be. calling features are lacking and completely absent on firefox.</p> 2020-09-04T05:49+0000
Sep 04, 2020

does the job of an instant messaging app for an organization well, but not good enough as a complete communications app, which it aims to be. calling features are lacking and completely absent on firefox.


138389 review-looks-like-misspelled-word-fred looks-like-misspelled-word-fred http://www.slack.feedback/review-looks-like-misspelled-word-fred 20380 0 0 0 It looks like you've misspelled the word "fred" on your website. I thought you would like to know :). Silly mistakes can ruin your site's credibility. I've used a tool called SpellScan.com in the past to keep mistakes off of my website. -Kerri <p>It looks like you&#39;ve misspelled the word &#34;fred&#34; on your website. I thought you would like to know :). Silly mistakes can ruin your site&#39;s credibility. I&#39;ve used a tool called SpellScan.com in the past to keep mistakes off of my website.</p> <p>-Kerri</p> 2020-08-31T02:26+0000
Aug 31, 2020

It looks like you've misspelled the word "fred" on your website. I thought you would like to know :). Silly mistakes can ruin your site's credibility. I've used a tool called SpellScan.com in the past to keep mistakes off of my website.

-Kerri


137226 review-able-locate-settings-joining-workspace able-locate-settings-joining-workspace http://www.slack.feedback/review-able-locate-settings-joining-workspace 21316 7 7 7 0 0 0 I was not able to locate in the Settings the "Next to Joining This Workspace" click Expand. Please advise. I am trying to add the TA to the Channel that has already been established. The TA is showing as "Not a member of the workspace" . Thank you. Professor Rowans <p>I was not able to locate in the Settings the &#34;Next to Joining This Workspace&#34; click Expand. Please advise. I am trying to add the TA to the Channel that has already been established. The TA is showing as &#34;Not a member of the workspace&#34;<br/>. Thank you. Professor Rowans</p> 2020-08-28T23:11+0000
Aug 28, 2020

I was not able to locate in the Settings the "Next to Joining This Workspace" click Expand. Please advise. I am trying to add the TA to the Channel that has already been established. The TA is showing as "Not a member of the workspace"
. Thank you. Professor Rowans


135129 review-slack-great-using-year-developer slack-great-using-year-developer http://www.slack.feedback/review-slack-great-using-year-developer 20102 10 8 9 0 0 0 Slack is great and after using for over an year (as developer) I am still finding new features and improvements that can be made on how we could communicate. Threads feature is absolutely great. The only downside is that the user interface and navigating channels is a bit confusing. Mobile navigation certainly needs to improve. <p>Slack is great and after using for over an year (as developer) I am still finding new features and improvements that can be made on how we could communicate. Threads feature is absolutely great. The only downside is that the user interface and navigating channels is a bit confusing. Mobile navigation certainly needs to improve.</p> 2020-08-03T00:35+0000
Aug 03, 2020

Slack is great and after using for over an year (as developer) I am still finding new features and improvements that can be made on how we could communicate. Threads feature is absolutely great. The only downside is that the user interface and navigating channels is a bit confusing. Mobile navigation certainly needs to improve.


133952 review-love-new-structure-slack-ability love-new-structure-slack-ability http://www.slack.feedback/review-love-new-structure-slack-ability 19000 10 10 10 0 0 0 I love the new structure with Slack with the ability to organize channels and the Drafts. What I have run into is that the Drafts gets filled with drafts as soon as I switch to a conversation and don't even type anything in that conversation. I then have to delete them one by one. I believe it would be very convenient if * Slack did not create a draft when the conversation is empty. * There is.a mechanism to "Delete All Drafts". Keep the awesomeness coming, Kindest Regards. <p>I love the new structure with Slack with the ability to organize channels and the Drafts. </p> <p>What I have run into is that the Drafts gets filled with drafts as soon as I switch to a conversation and don&#39;t even type anything in that conversation. I then have to delete them one by one. I believe it would be very convenient if </p> <ul> <li>Slack did not create a draft when the conversation is empty.</li> <li>There is.a mechanism to &#34;Delete All Drafts&#34;.</li> </ul> <p>Keep the awesomeness coming,</p> <p>Kindest Regards.</p> 2020-05-05T15:05+0000
May 05, 2020

I love the new structure with Slack with the ability to organize channels and the Drafts.

What I have run into is that the Drafts gets filled with drafts as soon as I switch to a conversation and don't even type anything in that conversation. I then have to delete them one by one. I believe it would be very convenient if

  • Slack did not create a draft when the conversation is empty.
  • There is.a mechanism to "Delete All Drafts".

Keep the awesomeness coming,

Kindest Regards.


133633 review-manager-small-company-getting-lots manager-small-company-getting-lots http://www.slack.feedback/review-manager-small-company-getting-lots 18787 3 3 3 0 0 0 I'm the IT manager for a small company and I'm getting LOTS of complaints about the new drafts feature. It is impacting our workflow heavily at this point. 1) Starting a draft makes it so that a person's name is removed from the DM list. I'm getting calls about people "disappearing" from the DM list and have to tell people to go look under drafts. If nothing else, the name should still be listed in the DM list if a draft is started 2) I've got reports that people were using drafts as a way of "tagging" people for response. Basically, people would start a reply, but not finish it, and then they could visually see that they needed to still get back to the person on the DM list. Now people are rolled up under drafts and people lose this ability to track their responses and are telling me they miss having their "todo list". 3) How do I globally turn off auto-updates for our entire workspace? At this point we no longer trust slack to automatically update the app as we now realize it could break our workflow. We want to go to manual updates and testing prior to roll out. Also is there a quick way to revert everyone back to the previous version? <p>I&#39;m the IT manager for a small company and I&#39;m getting LOTS of complaints about the new drafts feature. It is impacting our workflow heavily at this point.</p> <p>1) Starting a draft makes it so that a person&#39;s name is removed from the DM list. I&#39;m getting calls about people &#34;disappearing&#34; from the DM list and have to tell people to go look under drafts. If nothing else, the name should still be listed in the DM list if a draft is started</p> <p>2) I&#39;ve got reports that people were using drafts as a way of &#34;tagging&#34; people for response. Basically, people would start a reply, but not finish it, and then they could visually see that they needed to still get back to the person on the DM list. Now people are rolled up under drafts and people lose this ability to track their responses and are telling me they miss having their &#34;todo list&#34;.</p> <p>3) How do I globally turn off auto-updates for our entire workspace? At this point we no longer trust slack to automatically update the app as we now realize it could break our workflow. We want to go to manual updates and testing prior to roll out. Also is there a quick way to revert everyone back to the previous version?</p> 2020-04-15T18:14+0000
Apr 15, 2020

I'm the IT manager for a small company and I'm getting LOTS of complaints about the new drafts feature. It is impacting our workflow heavily at this point.

1) Starting a draft makes it so that a person's name is removed from the DM list. I'm getting calls about people "disappearing" from the DM list and have to tell people to go look under drafts. If nothing else, the name should still be listed in the DM list if a draft is started

2) I've got reports that people were using drafts as a way of "tagging" people for response. Basically, people would start a reply, but not finish it, and then they could visually see that they needed to still get back to the person on the DM list. Now people are rolled up under drafts and people lose this ability to track their responses and are telling me they miss having their "todo list".

3) How do I globally turn off auto-updates for our entire workspace? At this point we no longer trust slack to automatically update the app as we now realize it could break our workflow. We want to go to manual updates and testing prior to roll out. Also is there a quick way to revert everyone back to the previous version?


133337 review-don-like-new-slack-v4 don-like-new-slack-v4 http://www.slack.feedback/review-don-like-new-slack-v4 18705 6 6 6 0 0 0 I don't like the new Slack (v4.4.1). When I click "Direct Messages" it used to pop up a thing to let me type who I want to talk to. Now it minimizes the Direct Messages thing. Have to target the small '+' instead now. Which of these two options am I going to use more frequently? Typing a message to someone. How often am I going to want to minimize the "Direct Messages" thing? Not very often. <p>I don&#39;t like the new Slack (v4.4.1). When I click &#34;Direct Messages&#34; it used to pop up a thing to let me type who I want to talk to. Now it minimizes the Direct Messages thing. Have to target the small &#39;&#43;&#39; instead now.</p> <p>Which of these two options am I going to use more frequently? Typing a message to someone. How often am I going to want to minimize the &#34;Direct Messages&#34; thing? Not very often.</p> 2020-03-26T17:51+0000
Mar 26, 2020

I don't like the new Slack (v4.4.1). When I click "Direct Messages" it used to pop up a thing to let me type who I want to talk to. Now it minimizes the Direct Messages thing. Have to target the small '+' instead now.

Which of these two options am I going to use more frequently? Typing a message to someone. How often am I going to want to minimize the "Direct Messages" thing? Not very often.


133214 review-slack-team-definitely-greatest-messaging slack-team-definitely-greatest-messaging http://www.slack.feedback/review-slack-team-definitely-greatest-messaging 18619 9 4 6 0 0 0 Hi Slack Team, Slack is definitely one of the greatest messaging apps out there (if not the best), and for chat, I find myself recommending to everyone. For audio though, not so much. On a one-to-one video call, with both users having dedicated mics/headsets, audio is fine. But when there is a fair amount of background noise on the receiver's end, I've found that Slack applies WAY too much background noise compression (or real-time noise reduction) applied that makes the whole audio sound like digital waves crashing against cliff with your head underwater. It was an unusable experience. Once we shifted to another video app the sound improved immeasurably. So it was definitely Slack, and not the internet connection or equipment. Perhaps you can provide an enable/disable noise reduction setting, I feel like this call would actually have benefited WITHOUT the real-time noise reduction. You have a great product, hope you can keep improving it. <p>Hi Slack Team,</p> <p>Slack is definitely one of the greatest messaging apps out there (if not the best), and for chat, I find myself recommending to everyone. For audio though, not so much. On a one-to-one video call, with both users having dedicated mics/headsets, audio is fine. But when there is a fair amount of background noise on the receiver&#39;s end, I&#39;ve found that Slack applies WAY too much background noise compression (or real-time noise reduction) applied that makes the whole audio sound like digital waves crashing against cliff with your head underwater. It was an unusable experience. Once we shifted to another video app the sound improved immeasurably. So it was definitely Slack, and not the internet connection or equipment. Perhaps you can provide an enable/disable noise reduction setting, I feel like this call would actually have benefited WITHOUT the real-time noise reduction.</p> <p>You have a great product, hope you can keep improving it.</p> 2020-03-16T04:27+0000
Mar 16, 2020

Hi Slack Team,

Slack is definitely one of the greatest messaging apps out there (if not the best), and for chat, I find myself recommending to everyone. For audio though, not so much. On a one-to-one video call, with both users having dedicated mics/headsets, audio is fine. But when there is a fair amount of background noise on the receiver's end, I've found that Slack applies WAY too much background noise compression (or real-time noise reduction) applied that makes the whole audio sound like digital waves crashing against cliff with your head underwater. It was an unusable experience. Once we shifted to another video app the sound improved immeasurably. So it was definitely Slack, and not the internet connection or equipment. Perhaps you can provide an enable/disable noise reduction setting, I feel like this call would actually have benefited WITHOUT the real-time noise reduction.

You have a great product, hope you can keep improving it.